City of Pompano Beach



Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 21-675 Version: 1 Name:

Type: Resolution / Regular Agenda Status: Passed

File created: 6/29/2021 In control: City Commission

On agenda: 7/13/2021 Final action: 7/13/2021

Title: A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF POMPANO BEACH, FLORIDA,

APPOINTING MARGARET WHITE TO THE HISTORIC PRESERVATION COMMITTEE OF THE CITY OF POMPANO BEACH, FOR A TERM OF THREE (3) YEARS; SAID TERM TO EXPIRE ON

JUNE 13, 2024; PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

(Fiscal Impact: N/A)

APPLICANTS:

Margaret White, Incumbent - District 3
Micah A. Johnson, Sr. - Incumbent - District 4

Eve Lewis - District 3
Carmen Jones - District 4

Quenton Thompkins, Sr. - District 4

Danika Johnson - District 5 James Morehead- District 3

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. Resolution, 2. Attendance Record, 3. Applications, 4. Enactment Documents, 5. List of members

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
7/13/2021	1	City Commission	ADOPTED	Pass

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF POMPANO BEACH, FLORIDA, APPOINTING <u>MARGARET WHITE</u> TO THE HISTORIC PRESERVATION COMMITTEE OF THE CITY OF POMPANO BEACH, FOR A TERM OF THREE (3) YEARS; SAID TERM TO EXPIRE ON JUNE 13, 2024; PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

(Fiscal Impact: N/A)

APPLICANTS:

Margaret White, *Incumbent* - District 3

Micah A. Johnson, Sr. - Incumbent - District 4

Eve Lewis - District 3

Carmen Jones - District 4

Quenton Thompkins, Sr. - District 4

Danika Johnson - District 5 James Morehead- District 3

(Staff Contact: Asceleta Hammond)

Summary Explanation/Background:

This is a Commission's Appointment.

Please note that there are two regular member positions to be filled and one vacant alternate position to be filled.

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Carlton Gillespie (District 1); Micah A. Johnson (District 4); Jerry K.

File #: 21-675, Version: 1

Bowman, Sr. (District 3); Margaret White (District 3); Tobi Aycock (District 3); Barbara Armbrister-Boynton (District 5); Mona Silverstein (District 5) and Jacqueline Reed (District 2/Alternate 1).

The Historic Preservation Board shall consist of seven (7) voting members appointed by the City Commission for a three-year-term. One member of the Board shall be a registered architect, if available. The remaining six (6) appointments shall be made on the basis of civic pride, integrity, experience, and interest in the field of historic preservation. Each of the seven (7) voting members shall reside within city limits. The City Commission should, to the extent available, appoint a representative from each of the following areas of expertise: (1) History, (2) Architecture, (3) Architectural history, (4) Archaeology, (5) Planning and (6) Other historic preservation related disciplines such as Urban Planning, American Studies, American Civilization, Cultural Geography or Cultural Anthropology. Two (2) alternate members shall also be appointed by the City Commission for terms of two (2) years.

Origin of request for this action: City Clerk's Office

Fiscal impact and source of funding: N/A