

Legislation Text

File #: 17-218, Version: 1

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF POMPANO BEACH, FLORIDA, APPOINTING ______ TO THE PUBLIC ART COMMITTEE OF THE CITY OF POMPANO BEACH FOR A TERM OF TWO (2) YEARS; SAID TERM TO EXPIRE ON FEBRUARY 1, 2019; PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE. (Fiscal Impact: N/A)

APPLICANTS:

Donna M. Schorr, Art Dealer/Consultant, Incumbent - District 1 Chad Kovac, Artist, Incumbent - District 2 Marie Goodrum Johnson. Retired Educator. Incumbent - District 4 Linda Houston Jones, Media Specialist, Incumbent - District 5 Mimi Botscheller, Art Professor, Incumbent/Alternate#2 - District 1 Christopher Mullon, Business Owner, Incumbent/Alternate#1 - District 3 Carol Dickler, Fashion Designer - District 1 Joseph Grisafi, Resident - District 1 Mary Lou Hamilton, Designer - District 1 Amanda Hart, Designer - District 1 Dwight Hoffman, Teacher - District 1 Claudia Mazzocchetti, Structural Engineer - District 1 Carol Romano, Resident - District 1 Donna Russo, Art Teacher - District 1 Stephen Schorr, Attorney - District 1 Edith Kappler, Resident - District 2 Sharon Stone-Walker, Business Developer - District 2 Michael Tipton, Performing Arts Manager - District 2 Dahlia Baker, Program Assistant - District 3 John Cote, Artist - District 3 Michelle R. Cote, Office Manager/Bookkeeper - District 3 Patricia Knight, Art Teacher - District 3 Tyler Townsend, Museum/Collector - District 3 David Baumwald, Commercial Remodeling - District 4 Jazzmann LeSane, Founder/President - District 4 Nancy Farrell, Resident - District 5 Karen Jean Leventhal, Free Lance Writer - District 5 David Miller, Graphic Artist - District 5 Cynthia Morales, Product Specialist - District 5 Shellie Morrison, Business Owner - District 5 Ellen Schefler, Furniture Designer - District 5 Mona Silverstein, Landscape Designer - District 5 (Staff Contact: Asceleta Hammond)

Summary Explanation/Background:

File #: 17-218, Version: 1

This is a City Commission's Appointment.

The current membership is as follows: Chad Kovac (District 2), Tobi Aycock (District 3), Marie Goodrum Johnson (District 4), Kelly Ann Maguire (District 5), Linda Houston Jones (District 5), Terrence Davis (District 1), Donna M. Schorr (District 1), Christopher Mullon (District 3/Alter. #1) and Mimi Botscheller (District 1/Alter. #2).

The Public Art Committee shall consist of seven (7) members, plus an additional two (2) alternates with a strong commitment to the objectives of the Public Art Program, who shall be appointed at large by the City Commission. Membership of the Public Art Committee may include individuals chosen from the following disciplines: arts professionals (designer, curator, collector, public art administrator, historian, gallery owner or other persons determined to meet the artists or arts professionals category by the City Commission), landscape architecture, urban planning, architecture, engineering or a related design discipline; private citizen, knowledgeable in the field of public art, education or community affairs; and private citizens from the development community. The initial membership terms shall be staggered with four (4) members having two-year terms and three (3) members having one-year terms. Initially, alternates will have two-year terms. After initial terms, all future terms will be for two years, with staggered terminations.

Origin of request for this action: City Clerk's Office **Fiscal impact and source of funding:** N/A