City of Pompano Beach

100 West Atlantic Blvd. Pompano Beach, FL 33060



Legislation Text

File #: 17-253, Version: 1

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF POMPANO BEACH, FLORIDA, APPOINTING <u>COLLEEN MURPHY</u> TO THE HISTORIC PRESERVATION COMMITTEE OF THE CITY OF POMPANO BEACH, TO FILL THE UNEXPIRED TERM OF JUDY KNOEBEL; SAID TERM TO EXPIRE ON JUNE 13, 2019; PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

(Fiscal Impact: N/A)

APPLICANTS:

Colleen Murphy, Alternate #1 - District 1
Barbara Armbrister-Boynton, Alternate #2 - District 5
Claudia Mazzocchetti - District 1
Jacqueline Reed - District 2
Tom McMahon - District 3
John Way - District 3
Carmen Jones - District 4
Jazzmann LeSane - District 4
Marguerite K. Luster - District 4
Mona Silverstein - District 5

(Staff Contact: Asceleta Hammond)

Summary Explanation/Background:

This is a Commission's Appointment. Additionally, Mses. Murphy and Armbrister-Boynton are both interested to serve as a regular member.

A Resolution of the City Commission of the City of Pompano Beach, Florida, appointing ________to the Historic Preservation Committee of the City of Pompano Beach, to fill the unexpired term of Judy Knoebel; said term to expire on June 13, 2019; providing an effective date.

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Micah A. Johnson (District 4); Jerry K. Bowman, Sr. (District 3), Hibbard Casselberry (District 5); Margaret White (District 3), Hazel Armbrister (District 4), Tobi Aycock (District 3), Colleen Murphy (District 1/Alt.#1) and Barbara Armbrister-Boynton (District 5/Alt.#2)

The Historic Preservation Board shall consist of seven (7) voting members appointed by the City Commission for a three-year-term. One member of the Board shall be a registered architect, if available. The remaining six (6) appointments shall be made on the basis of civic pride, integrity, experience, and interest in the field of historic preservation. Each of the seven (7) voting members shall reside within city limits. The City Commission should, to the extent available, appoint a representative from each of the following areas of expertise: (1) History, (2) Architecture, (3) Architectural history, (4) Archaeology, (5) Planning and (6) Other historic preservation related disciplines such as Urban Planning, American Studies, American Civilization, Cultural Geography or Cultural Anthropology. Two (2) alternate members shall also be appointed by the City Commission for terms of two (2) years.

Origin of request for this action: City Clerk's Office

Fiscal impact and source of funding: N/A