

100 West Atlantic Blvd. Pompano Beach, FL 33060



Legislation Text

File #: 18-219, Version: 1

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF POMPANO BEACH, FLORIDA, APPOINTING **RICHARD SASSO** TO THE POMPANO BEACH ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL INC. OF THE CITY OF POMPANO BEACH, AS APPOINTEE OF COMMISSIONER MICHAEL SOBEL; FOR A TERM TO BE CONCURRENT WITH THE TERM OF THE APPOINTING OFFICIAL; PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

(Fiscal Impact: N/A)

(Staff Contact: Asceleta Hammond)

Summary Explanation/Background:

Please note below specific sections of the By-laws of the Pompano Beach Economic Council:

2.04 QUALIFICATIONS OF DIRECTORS

Directors must be natural persons who are residents of Florida and are eighteen (18) years of age or older. Directors need not be residents of the City of Pompano Beach, Florida, but must have or represent business interests in the City of Pompano Beach. In addition, each person serving as a director must meet the criteria established elsewhere in these By-Laws.

2.05 APPOINTMENT AND COMPOSITION OF DIRECTORS

Due consideration shall be given to appoint Directors that represent small employers in Pompano Beach, major employers in Pompano Beach, representatives from the non-residential real estate industry including, without limitation, representatives of industrial parks, office parks, or retail shopping centers located within the Council limits of the City of Pompano Beach, developers, general contractors, architects, engineers, attorneys, commercial real estate brokers; and representatives of the investment banking industry. Due consideration shall also be given to the ethnic background and gender of candidates for the Board of Directors to help ensure that the Council meets or exceeds its goals and objectives with equal opportunity for qualified candidates.

Members of the Board of Directors of the Council shall be elected or appointed as follows:

(a) City Commission of City of Pompano Beach (COMMISSION) Appointees: The COMMISSION shall appoint five (5) directors to the Board of Directors as follows: each Commissioner shall have the power to appoint one (1) director to the Board of Directors using the criteria above as a guideline for each Commission appointee.

Current Members are: Des Frazier, District 4; Whitney Rawls, District 4; Dodie Keith-Lazowick, District 3; and Ghulam "Joe" Usman, District 3.

Origin of request for this action: City Clerk's Office

Fiscal impact and source of funding: N/A

Strategic Plan Information



5.2.1. Ensure boards/committees are at 90% capacity with qualified members

File #: 18-219, Version: 1